Posted on

A city known for the sweet smell of roses is now officially Georgia’s “Rose City,” as Thomasville, Georgia, nestled in the Red Hills Region, and located 45 miles west of Valdosta and 35 miles northeast of Tallahassee, Florida was officially designated as Georgia’s Rose City during Tourism Day at the Capitol, January 26, 2016.  Georgia Representative Darlene Taylor, Georgia Representative Amy Carter, Georgia Representative Sam Watson and Georgia Senator Dean Burke worked with City of Thomasville staff to establish the designation.

Karen Smith, executive director-Main Street & Tourism says, “The city’s annual Rose Show and Festival has been a South Georgia tradition since the 1920s, and Thomasville is known regionally as the City of Roses. It only seemed fitting that this year, as we celebrate 95 years of roses, that Thomasville officially be recognized as Georgia’s Rose City.”

The designation became official during a ceremony in the House of Representatives and Senate at the Georgia Capitol in Atlanta, on Tuesday, attended by Terry Scott, Thomasville city council member; Steve Sykes, Thomasville city manager; Karen Smith, Thomasville executive director-Main Street & Tourism; Bonnie Hayes, Thomasville tourism director; Sherri Nix, Thomasville marketing & communications manager, and Sarah Turner, Thomasville events manager. 

Adds Smith, “Thomasville is a community rich in history that believes the tradition of the past should guide our steps into the future.  The Rose Show and Festival is a perfect example of that philosophy.”









Pictured front row (L-R) Tracy Sykes, wife of City Manager Steve Sykes, Representative Darlene Taylor, District 173, Representative Amy Carter, District 175, Executive Director, Thomasville Main Street and Tourism, Karen Smith, Speaker of the House David Ralston

Pictured back row (L-R) Representative Sam Watson, District 172, Veronica Scott , wife of Thomasville Councilmember Terry Scott, Thomasville Councilmember Terry Scott, Thomasville City Manager, Steve Sykes

Credit: Georgia House of Representatives